The surgeon's daughter
(Large Print)

Book Cover
Average Rating
Published
Waerville, Maine : Thorndike Press, a part of Gale, a Cengage Company, 2022.
Format
Large Print
Edition
Large print edition.
ISBN
9798885781558
Physical Desc
577 pages ; 22 cm.
Status

Description

Loading Description...

Copies

LocationCall NumberStatus
Nesmith Library - Large Print Books - Adult AreaLP BLAOn Shelf

More Like This

Loading more titles like this title...

Also in this Series

Checking series information...

More Details

Published
Waerville, Maine : Thorndike Press, a part of Gale, a Cengage Company, 2022.
Edition
Large print edition.
Street Date
2208
Language
English
ISBN
9798885781558

Notes

General Note
Book concludes with a historical note, reading group guide, and an interview with the author.
Description
"Richly detailed, expertly paced saga of the only female student attending a prestigious medical school in Italy...a truly captivating heroine, for then and for now." --Sally Cabot Gunning, author of The Widow's Warand Painting the Light From the USA Todaybestselling author of The Girl in His Shadowcomes a riveting historical fiction novel about the women in medicine who changed the world forever. Women's work is a matter of life and death. Nora Beady, the only female student at a prestigious medical school in Bologna, is a rarity. In the 19th century women are expected to remain at home and raise children, so her unconventional, indelicate ambitions to become a licensed surgeon offend the men around her. Everything changes when she allies herself with Magdalena Morenco, the sole female doctor on-staff. Together the two women develop new techniques to improve a groundbreaking surgery: the Cesarean section. It's a highly dangerous procedure and the research is grueling, but even worse is the vitriolic response from men. Most don't trust the findings of women, and many can choose to deny their wives medical care. Already facing resistance on all sides, Nora is shaken when she meets a patient who will die without the surgery. If the procedure is successful, her work could change the world. But a failure could cost everything: precious lives, Nora's career, and the role women will be allowed to play in medicine. Perfect for book clubs and for fans of Marie Benedict, Tracey Enerson Wood, and Sarah Penner comes a captivating celebration of women healthcare workers throughout history"--,Provided by publisher.

Reviews from GoodReads

Loading GoodReads Reviews.

Citations

APA Citation, 7th Edition (style guide)

Blake, A. (2022). The surgeon's daughter (Large print edition.). Thorndike Press, a part of Gale, a Cengage Company.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation, 17th Edition (style guide)

Blake, Audrey, active 2020. 2022. The Surgeon's Daughter. Thorndike Press, a part of Gale, a Cengage Company.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities (Notes and Bibliography) Citation, 17th Edition (style guide)

Blake, Audrey, active 2020. The Surgeon's Daughter Thorndike Press, a part of Gale, a Cengage Company, 2022.

MLA Citation, 9th Edition (style guide)

Blake, Audrey. The Surgeon's Daughter Large print edition., Thorndike Press, a part of Gale, a Cengage Company, 2022.

Note! Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy. Citation formats are based on standards as of August 2021.

Staff View

Loading Staff View.